{
  "publisher": "Actigy BPO",
  "type": "public-source synthesis",
  "checked_at": "2026-10-18",
  "observations": [
    {
      "id": "ama_requests",
      "value": 40,
      "unit": "requests per week",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "1000 practicing physician respondents",
      "denominator": "per physician",
      "source_id": "AMA",
      "source_url": "https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/05/13/3294164/0/en/AMA-Survey-Prior-Authorization-Reform.html",
      "publication_date": "2026-05-13",
      "limitation": "Self-reported; not administrative transaction-level measurement."
    },
    {
      "id": "ama_hours",
      "value": 13,
      "unit": "combined physician and staff hours per week",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "1000 practicing physician respondents",
      "denominator": "per physician",
      "source_id": "AMA",
      "source_url": "https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/05/13/3294164/0/en/AMA-Survey-Prior-Authorization-Reform.html",
      "publication_date": "2026-05-13",
      "limitation": "Self-reported; not administrative transaction-level measurement."
    },
    {
      "id": "ama_dedicated_staff",
      "value": 40,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "1000 practicing physician respondents",
      "denominator": "physician respondents",
      "source_id": "AMA",
      "source_url": "https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/05/13/3294164/0/en/AMA-Survey-Prior-Authorization-Reform.html",
      "publication_date": "2026-05-13",
      "limitation": "Self-reported; not administrative transaction-level measurement."
    },
    {
      "id": "ama_delays",
      "value": 95,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "1000 practicing physician respondents",
      "denominator": "physician respondents",
      "source_id": "AMA",
      "source_url": "https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/05/13/3294164/0/en/AMA-Survey-Prior-Authorization-Reform.html",
      "publication_date": "2026-05-13",
      "limitation": "Self-reported; not administrative transaction-level measurement."
    },
    {
      "id": "ma24_volume",
      "value": 52.8,
      "unit": "million determinations",
      "observation_period": "2024",
      "population": "Medicare Advantage CMS contract reports",
      "denominator": "Medicare Advantage PA determinations",
      "source_id": "KFFPA24",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/medicare/medicare-advantage-insurers-made-nearly-53-million-prior-authorization-determinations-in-2024/",
      "publication_date": "2026",
      "limitation": "Not directly comparable to 2025 public-insurer standard-request rates; appeals are a selected subset."
    },
    {
      "id": "ma24_denials",
      "value": 7.7,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2024",
      "population": "Medicare Advantage CMS contract reports",
      "denominator": "determinations",
      "source_id": "KFFPA24",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/medicare/medicare-advantage-insurers-made-nearly-53-million-prior-authorization-determinations-in-2024/",
      "publication_date": "2026",
      "limitation": "Not directly comparable to 2025 public-insurer standard-request rates; appeals are a selected subset."
    },
    {
      "id": "ma24_appealed",
      "value": 11.5,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2024",
      "population": "Medicare Advantage CMS contract reports",
      "denominator": "denied requests",
      "source_id": "KFFPA24",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/medicare/medicare-advantage-insurers-made-nearly-53-million-prior-authorization-determinations-in-2024/",
      "publication_date": "2026",
      "limitation": "Not directly comparable to 2025 public-insurer standard-request rates; appeals are a selected subset."
    },
    {
      "id": "ma24_overturned",
      "value": 80.7,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2024",
      "population": "Medicare Advantage CMS contract reports",
      "denominator": "appealed requests",
      "source_id": "KFFPA24",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/medicare/medicare-advantage-insurers-made-nearly-53-million-prior-authorization-determinations-in-2024/",
      "publication_date": "2026",
      "limitation": "Not directly comparable to 2025 public-insurer standard-request rates; appeals are a selected subset."
    },
    {
      "id": "pa25_medicare_advantage_standard",
      "value": 12,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "Medicare Advantage insurers in KFF public-report analysis",
      "denominator": "standard requests",
      "source_id": "KFFPA25",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/patient-consumer-protections/prior-authorization-metrics-provide-new-insights-into-insurer-practices-but-gaps-remain/",
      "publication_date": "2026-08-13",
      "limitation": "Source-reported market average for included insurers, not all US requests. Market averages are weighted by enrollment within each insurance market."
    },
    {
      "id": "pa25_medicare_advantage_expedited",
      "value": 10,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "Medicare Advantage insurers in KFF public-report analysis",
      "denominator": "expedited requests",
      "source_id": "KFFPA25",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/patient-consumer-protections/prior-authorization-metrics-provide-new-insights-into-insurer-practices-but-gaps-remain/",
      "publication_date": "2026-08-13",
      "limitation": "Source-reported market average for included insurers, not all US requests. Market averages are weighted by enrollment within each insurance market."
    },
    {
      "id": "pa25_medicaid_managed_care_standard",
      "value": 14,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "Medicaid managed care insurers in KFF public-report analysis",
      "denominator": "standard requests",
      "source_id": "KFFPA25",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/patient-consumer-protections/prior-authorization-metrics-provide-new-insights-into-insurer-practices-but-gaps-remain/",
      "publication_date": "2026-08-13",
      "limitation": "Source-reported market average for included insurers, not all US requests. Market averages are weighted by enrollment within each insurance market."
    },
    {
      "id": "pa25_medicaid_managed_care_expedited",
      "value": 12,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "Medicaid managed care insurers in KFF public-report analysis",
      "denominator": "expedited requests",
      "source_id": "KFFPA25",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/patient-consumer-protections/prior-authorization-metrics-provide-new-insights-into-insurer-practices-but-gaps-remain/",
      "publication_date": "2026-08-13",
      "limitation": "Source-reported market average for included insurers, not all US requests. Market averages are weighted by enrollment within each insurance market."
    },
    {
      "id": "pa25_federal_aca_marketplace_standard",
      "value": 18,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "Federal ACA Marketplace insurers in KFF public-report analysis",
      "denominator": "standard requests",
      "source_id": "KFFPA25",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/patient-consumer-protections/prior-authorization-metrics-provide-new-insights-into-insurer-practices-but-gaps-remain/",
      "publication_date": "2026-08-13",
      "limitation": "Source-reported market average for included insurers, not all US requests. Market averages are weighted by enrollment within each insurance market."
    },
    {
      "id": "pa25_federal_aca_marketplace_expedited",
      "value": 16,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "Federal ACA Marketplace insurers in KFF public-report analysis",
      "denominator": "expedited requests",
      "source_id": "KFFPA25",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/patient-consumer-protections/prior-authorization-metrics-provide-new-insights-into-insurer-practices-but-gaps-remain/",
      "publication_date": "2026-08-13",
      "limitation": "Source-reported market average for included insurers, not all US requests. Market averages are weighted by enrollment within each insurance market."
    },
    {
      "id": "kff_burden",
      "value": 69,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "January 2026",
      "population": "Insured adults in national poll",
      "denominator": "insured adult respondents",
      "source_id": "KFFPOLL",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/public-opinion/kff-health-tracking-poll-prior-authorizations-rank-as-publics-biggest-burden-when-getting-health-care/",
      "publication_date": "2026-02-02",
      "limitation": "Self-reported burden, not a denial rate."
    },
    {
      "id": "kff_chronic_burden",
      "value": 39,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "January 2026",
      "population": "Insured adults with chronic conditions",
      "denominator": "respondents in subgroup",
      "source_id": "KFFPOLL",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/public-opinion/kff-health-tracking-poll-prior-authorizations-rank-as-publics-biggest-burden-when-getting-health-care/",
      "publication_date": "2026-02-02",
      "limitation": "Prior authorization named the single biggest burden beyond cost."
    },
    {
      "id": "mgma_initial",
      "value": [
        7,
        8
      ],
      "unit": "percent range",
      "observation_period": "Preceding four years as summarized July 2026",
      "population": "Medical practice benchmark commentary",
      "denominator": "first-submission claims",
      "source_id": "MGMA",
      "source_url": "https://www.mgma.com/mgma-stat/days-in-a/r-holds-steady-for-most-practices-but-payer-pressure-persists-in-2026",
      "publication_date": "2026-07-30",
      "limitation": "Public passage does not disclose detailed benchmark sample."
    },
    {
      "id": "kodiak24_initial",
      "value": 11.81,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2024",
      "population": "Kodiak provider platform",
      "denominator": "initial claims",
      "source_id": "KODIAK24",
      "source_url": "https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20250521892947/en/Rate-of-initial-denials-of-medical-insurance-claims-continued-to-rise-in-2024-Kodiak-Solutions-proprietary-data-show",
      "publication_date": "2025-05-21",
      "limitation": "Historical platform result, not a national 2026 rate."
    },
    {
      "id": "kff24_in_network",
      "value": 19,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2024",
      "population": "HealthCare.gov QHP post-service medical and drug claims",
      "denominator": "in_network claims",
      "source_id": "KFFCLAIMS",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/patient-consumer-protections/claims-denials-and-appeals-in-aca-marketplace-plans-in-2024/",
      "publication_date": "2026-03-24",
      "limitation": "Not all US insurers; not prior authorization requests."
    },
    {
      "id": "kff24_out_of_network",
      "value": 37,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "2024",
      "population": "HealthCare.gov QHP post-service medical and drug claims",
      "denominator": "out_of_network claims",
      "source_id": "KFFCLAIMS",
      "source_url": "https://www.kff.org/patient-consumer-protections/claims-denials-and-appeals-in-aca-marketplace-plans-in-2024/",
      "publication_date": "2026-03-24",
      "limitation": "Not all US insurers; not prior authorization requests."
    },
    {
      "id": "kodiak_takebacks_2025",
      "value": 1.38,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "First half 2025",
      "population": "Kodiak platform",
      "denominator": "accounts receivable",
      "source_id": "KODIAK26",
      "source_url": "https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20260915724994/en/Falling-Rates-of-Insurance-Claim-Denials-Fail-to-Drive-Better-Financial-Performance-for-Hospitals-Health-Systems-and-Medical-Practices-According-to-a-Kodiak-Solutions-Analysis",
      "publication_date": "2026-09-15",
      "limitation": "Post-payment takebacks; not net revenue or share of claims."
    },
    {
      "id": "kodiak_recoveries_2025",
      "value": 2.48,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "First half 2025",
      "population": "Kodiak platform",
      "denominator": "accounts receivable",
      "source_id": "KODIAK26",
      "source_url": "https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20260915724994/en/Falling-Rates-of-Insurance-Claim-Denials-Fail-to-Drive-Better-Financial-Performance-for-Hospitals-Health-Systems-and-Medical-Practices-According-to-a-Kodiak-Solutions-Analysis",
      "publication_date": "2026-09-15",
      "limitation": "Recoveries after payment; not an appeal success rate."
    },
    {
      "id": "kodiak_takebacks_2026",
      "value": 1.57,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "First half 2026",
      "population": "Kodiak platform",
      "denominator": "accounts receivable",
      "source_id": "KODIAK26",
      "source_url": "https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20260915724994/en/Falling-Rates-of-Insurance-Claim-Denials-Fail-to-Drive-Better-Financial-Performance-for-Hospitals-Health-Systems-and-Medical-Practices-According-to-a-Kodiak-Solutions-Analysis",
      "publication_date": "2026-09-15",
      "limitation": "Post-payment takebacks; not net revenue or share of claims."
    },
    {
      "id": "kodiak_recoveries_2026",
      "value": 2.21,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "First half 2026",
      "population": "Kodiak platform",
      "denominator": "accounts receivable",
      "source_id": "KODIAK26",
      "source_url": "https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20260915724994/en/Falling-Rates-of-Insurance-Claim-Denials-Fail-to-Drive-Better-Financial-Performance-for-Hospitals-Health-Systems-and-Medical-Practices-According-to-a-Kodiak-Solutions-Analysis",
      "publication_date": "2026-09-15",
      "limitation": "Recoveries after payment; not an appeal success rate."
    },
    {
      "id": "kodiak25_combined_losses",
      "value": 48,
      "unit": "USD billion lower bound",
      "observation_period": "2025",
      "population": "Kodiak hospital platform",
      "denominator": "not applicable",
      "source_id": "KODIAK25",
      "source_url": "https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20260331038554/en/Healthcare-Provider-Organizations-Saw-Net-Revenue-Losses-From-Final-Denials-and-Bad-Debt-Grow-by-25-in-2025-According-to-Kodiak-Solutions-Proprietary-Data",
      "publication_date": "2026-03-31",
      "limitation": "Reported as MORE THAN 48 billion; combines final denials and uncollected patient amounts, not denial-only losses."
    },
    {
      "id": "experian26_missing_data",
      "value": 63,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "January to February 2026",
      "population": "200 surveyed healthcare leaders",
      "denominator": "respondents",
      "source_id": "EXPERIAN26",
      "source_url": "https://www.experian.com/content/dam/marketing/na/healthcare/articles/eh_claim_denial_infographic_final.pdf",
      "publication_date": "2026",
      "limitation": "Cause selections overlap; respondent percentages are not claim-volume rates."
    },
    {
      "id": "experian26_inaccurate_data",
      "value": 62,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "January to February 2026",
      "population": "200 surveyed healthcare leaders",
      "denominator": "respondents",
      "source_id": "EXPERIAN26",
      "source_url": "https://www.experian.com/content/dam/marketing/na/healthcare/articles/eh_claim_denial_infographic_final.pdf",
      "publication_date": "2026",
      "limitation": "Cause selections overlap; respondent percentages are not claim-volume rates."
    },
    {
      "id": "experian26_authorization_issues",
      "value": 59,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "January to February 2026",
      "population": "200 surveyed healthcare leaders",
      "denominator": "respondents",
      "source_id": "EXPERIAN26",
      "source_url": "https://www.experian.com/content/dam/marketing/na/healthcare/articles/eh_claim_denial_infographic_final.pdf",
      "publication_date": "2026",
      "limitation": "Cause selections overlap; respondent percentages are not claim-volume rates."
    },
    {
      "id": "experian26_rate_increased",
      "value": 24,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "January to February 2026",
      "population": "200 surveyed healthcare leaders",
      "denominator": "respondents",
      "source_id": "EXPERIAN26",
      "source_url": "https://www.experian.com/content/dam/marketing/na/healthcare/articles/eh_claim_denial_infographic_final.pdf",
      "publication_date": "2026",
      "limitation": "Cause selections overlap; respondent percentages are not claim-volume rates."
    },
    {
      "id": "experian26_rate_10_or_less",
      "value": 76,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "January to February 2026",
      "population": "200 surveyed healthcare leaders",
      "denominator": "respondents",
      "source_id": "EXPERIAN26",
      "source_url": "https://www.experian.com/content/dam/marketing/na/healthcare/articles/eh_claim_denial_infographic_final.pdf",
      "publication_date": "2026",
      "limitation": "Cause selections overlap; respondent percentages are not claim-volume rates."
    },
    {
      "id": "experian25_over10",
      "value": 41,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "June to July 2025",
      "population": "250 surveyed healthcare professionals",
      "denominator": "respondents",
      "source_id": "EXPERIAN25",
      "source_url": "https://www.experianplc.com/newsroom/press-releases/2025/experian-health-s-3rd-annual-state-of-claims-survey-finds-denial",
      "publication_date": "2025-09-22",
      "limitation": "Publisher blog says claims denied at least 10% of the time. Not a matched panel with 2026 survey."
    },
    {
      "id": "premier23_rework",
      "value": 57.23,
      "unit": "USD per contested denied claim",
      "observation_period": "2023 claims",
      "population": "280 surveyed hospitals in 23 states",
      "denominator": "contested denied claims",
      "source_id": "PREMIER",
      "source_url": "https://premierinc.com/newsroom/blog/claims-adjudication-costs-providers-257-billion-18-billion-is-potentially-unnecessary-expense",
      "publication_date": "2025-02-24",
      "limitation": "Voluntary hospital survey; not a current physician-practice price."
    },
    {
      "id": "premier22_rework",
      "value": 43.84,
      "unit": "USD per contested denied claim",
      "observation_period": "2022 claims",
      "population": "Prior Premier survey comparison",
      "denominator": "contested denied claims",
      "source_id": "PREMIER",
      "source_url": "https://premierinc.com/newsroom/blog/claims-adjudication-costs-providers-257-billion-18-billion-is-potentially-unnecessary-expense",
      "publication_date": "2025-02-24",
      "limitation": "Historical comparison as reported by publisher."
    },
    {
      "id": "premier23_national",
      "value": 25.7,
      "unit": "USD billion estimated",
      "observation_period": "2023 claims",
      "population": "US extrapolation from survey",
      "denominator": "not applicable",
      "source_id": "PREMIER",
      "source_url": "https://premierinc.com/newsroom/blog/claims-adjudication-costs-providers-257-billion-18-billion-is-potentially-unnecessary-expense",
      "publication_date": "2025-02-24",
      "limitation": "Modeled national cost, not an observed spending census."
    },
    {
      "id": "actigy_start_clean_claim",
      "value": 84.1,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "Engagement period not specified",
      "population": "Anonymized combined telehealth RCM engagement",
      "denominator": "clean claims as company defined",
      "source_id": "ACTCASE",
      "source_url": "https://actigy.com/case-studies/telehealth-rcm-clean-claims/",
      "publication_date": "2026-10-04 update",
      "limitation": "Company-reported, unaudited; not isolated denial-support effect."
    },
    {
      "id": "actigy_end_clean_claim",
      "value": 97.8,
      "unit": "percent",
      "observation_period": "Engagement period not specified",
      "population": "Anonymized combined telehealth RCM engagement",
      "denominator": "clean claims as company defined",
      "source_id": "ACTCASE",
      "source_url": "https://actigy.com/case-studies/telehealth-rcm-clean-claims/",
      "publication_date": "2026-10-04 update",
      "limitation": "Company-reported, unaudited; not isolated denial-support effect."
    }
  ]
}